top of page

An interview and a reflection


Today I attended an interview for a role as a Digital Leader at my university. I thought I was prepared. The above video was created to contribute to the presentation that had to be prepared for interview. However... on reflection I realised that I had personalised the presentation too much, and probably wasn't as prepared as I should have been.


This is a personal reflection in order that I can learn from this process. I will not find out if I have been successful at interview for another two days - and I will update with the results, however I am not hopeful. I do not believe I represented myself well, in fact I may have appeared to only be interested in an easy life! Truly a misrepresentation - I am interested in edtech as a way of work/life balance and student engagement and enjoyment - but that's another blog.


I think my personal concern over the teacher crisis and determination to find ways to remain in teaching transferred to an over-emphasis on an easy life. To be fair this was partially the message I wanted to convey. However, it was intended to communicate the potential to others that technology can streamline paperwork/assessment and engage students - hence making the educators life easi-er.


Whatever the outcome from this interview I will have learnt three things:

  • make sure you have a back up plan for if/when tech fails

  • next year it's job interviews - prioritise prep for teaching interviews ALONGSIDE assignments (I will need a job!)

  • critically assess the presentation objectively - what does it actually tell you?

  • Always, ALWAYS start with the pedagogy!

Next step - some research on ed-tech pedagogy!

*NB - the 'stupid' comment from Toby (the dog at the start) was improvisation from my son! Note to self - write a script if the children are 'helping'!!!


RSS Feed
Categories
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page