top of page

A day on the farm...


Approximately 10 day old calf - the only cattle in  cubicles

As a follow up to the course undertaken at The Cheshire Show, FaCE organised a dairy farm visit for trainees. The upcoming visit was discussed during the day at The Show, and described as intensive dairy farming wherein the cows are always indoors. I had visions of the the cow version of battery hens!

On the day I resolved to go to the farm, on the fait that Katy, the FaCE trainer, had assured us that the cows were well looked after and happy. However, it was with a fair bit of trepidation that I drove onto the farm - envisioning a military style break out scenario should my fears be realised.

Myself and another trainee were shown around the farm by the farmer, Richard. He was very open about the reasons for the chosen method of farming. It was fascinating and enlightening to discover how complex the and scientific the running of a farm is. The TV image of James Herriot (I know, I'm showing my age) is far, far outdated. A better comparison I think would be that of Avatar, or I robot. The cows are definitely in better health than I am, and their diet is 100% better balanced!

I was pleasantly surprised to find that 'indoor' is not actually indoor - or at least on this farm that is the case. I was reminded during the day that there may be 200 dairy farms, where you will find at least 400 varying methods of dairy farming. Indoor (on this farm) meant covered. I had visions of cows in a shed, in their own cubicle which they would possibly be able to turn - basically in solitary confinement. I was wrong. But how is this relevant to my professional development?

An 'indoor' dairy farm

I realised during the day how important it is that we as individuals, but more especially as teachers, are open minded. I went to the farm despite my fears of the ethical and moral implications; I went trying to be open minded. As a result I was able to have an open discussion with the farmer about my preconceptions - and was credited to having 'half a brain' - in the nicest possible way of course. But more than that, I was informed as to what intensive farming is and yes, there are ethical issues, but those issues are not related in any way whatsoever with cattle welfare.

It was evident during the day that a KS2 class, and even more-so KS3, would be able to get so much input and growth from a similar visit. There were opportunities to discuss the ethics of genetic testing, and subsequent 'designer cows'; input regarding nutritional value of food - or grass in the case of cows; the technology used would be relevant to both computing and design and technology - and I've not even considered the obvious curriculum links of science: habitats and living things.

What is striking to me is that over my first year of university, the sessions that have been most memorable have been either practical within the classroom i.e. music minor sessions, or activities and learning outside the classroom. This knowledge, experience and evidence from research will enable me to go into practice as an inexperienced NQT and defend my desire to provide my class with learning experiences not restricted to the classroom - 'the riches' of learning as Fred Sedgwick would say.

RSS Feed
Categories
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page