top of page

The lessons that EYFS has for the 'big ones'...


In the long break between the end of my first year of training and the start of my second I decided to do some agency work as a TA. I didn't request placement within the early years foundation stage (EYFS) but the first 5 assignments just happened to be in reception or nursery classes.

I am training to be a primary school teacher because I want to work in a primary school. However, at no particular time have I sat down and considered if I would like to work in the foundation stage. The assignments whilst working with agencies have prompted me to reflect on this - and with experience to date I think I would say it is not my 'favourite' age group, BUT they (and their teachers) have much to teach the rest of the school.

I admire the skill it takes to recognise when learning is happening and design tasks to stimulate said learning. I aspire to develop these skills over the next two years to utilise, not only if I get a job in early years, but throughout the school. In my first placement I recognise that I relied heavily on assessment of learning to inform my planning. I need to develop my assessment for learning skills and this is where EYFS excel.

From working in foundation stage I have observed work stations where children can play or create. Can we not use this throughout the school? I often hear from fellow of students where teachers are reluctant to plan practical sessions because there will be 'nothing in the books'. This is where EYFS can help us; children have excellent skills at the foundation stage of explaining their own thinking despite having limited vocabulary. Can they not do the same further up the school? Can we not talk to our children and possibly utilise the technology that school has invested in; QR codes linked to recordings of reflections or even videos of practical activities?

After publishing my very first blog, my very first comment was to inform me that I had a rose tinted view of teaching. I admit that I am inexperienced and possibly a little naive to the strictures and rigours of whole class teaching. However, I dispute that I have a rose tinted view. I am fully aware of the challenges that teachers of today face, however that's what makes it all the more important that we think outside the box and find ways around (or steps across) the hurdles that official agencies make us jump over.

If we can utilise the lessons from foundation stage, the tools of technology and the creativity of our greatest resource - our staff I believe we can, as a team make learning fun and progressive.

RSS Feed
Categories
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page