top of page

Just Do It!

On 21 May 2016 I attended the Learning First conference in Sheffield, organised by Dame Alison Peacock. This was a 'grassroots' movement sparked by a Twitter comment in February and it grew to the point that there were over 500 educationalists in attendance - all with a passion to make a difference to assessment in today's schools.

Attending as a trainee teacher was, to be quite frank, intimidating. When I applied for the ticket I was only aware the day would be about assessment - about which I want, and need, to learn more. The closer we got to the day, the more I realised that this was developing into quite an influential event... which prompted me to consider what I could bring to a debate on assessment. The answer - my passion. This I had not considered until actually speaking to various headteachers in attendance, and I repeatedly got the same message.

On the day, I chose to attend workshops regarding cognitive science and music. Forty five minutes is not a long time to convey the striking messages that the presenters were trying to communicate but @mralevin, @AllyDaubney and @DrFautley did a fantastic job.

The most consistent message that I took from the day is that assessment is a tool to inform how and what to teach. It should not be the end goal. In fact, Michael Tidd referred to Dylan Wiliam's biggest regret: calling his 'invention' formative assessment but on reflection he would have named it responsive teaching.

Another quote: effectiveness is intelligent laziness. This struck me not because I think that we should all be lazy - quite the opposite. We should all endeavour to put all our efforts to tasks that have the most impact. It is a scary, but true fact that teachers influence lives. Children can be affected by your actions years after a throwaway remark has destroyed their dreams, such as my own dad never singing because he was told to stop in primary school -to the day he died I never heard him sing! Because of the influence teachers can have on children, surely we should be fighting to make the most positive impact for the children- and that was the resounding message that I took away from the #LearningFirst conference from the vast majority of the speakers.

Admittedly, it is difficult teachers, on the shop floor so to speak, to be courageous and do what they think is best despite their SLT view. However, many in attendance at the conference were SLT, and the speakers were talking to them. "Just do it!" was what John Tomsett finished his speech with; I think that is ultimately what the teaching profession needs to do - find a way around the obstacles and just do it! And #LearningFirst could very well be the collaborative network to support such changes.

 

A number of blogs have already been published regarding this event, and quite possibly convey the messages from that day much more successfully than me:

And if you would like to watch/listen to the afternoon speakers you can do so here:

 

My raw notes can be found here and here if you are interested.

RSS Feed
Categories
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page